Are Vapes Gluten Free?

Are Vapes Gluten Free?

Do you vape? Are you aware of a gluten intolerance you may have? Wondering whether vape e-liquids and disposables contain gluten? Well, you’ve landed on the right page. For those who do not know what gluten is, simply put, gluten is a protein found in grains such as barley, wheat and rye.  

It’s found in plenty of meals and tasty snacks including pasta, pizza, biscuits, cakes and all the other good stuff!  

Read on to discover more about gluten, its potential symptoms, and whether it can be found in vapes and e-liquids. 

What Happens if You Have a Gluten Intolerance?

If you have an intolerance to gluten and do not manage the issue, it can lead to illnesses such as Coeliac disease. This is a condition as stated by the NHS, where ‘your immune system attacks your own tissues when you eat gluten. This damages your gut (small intestine) so your body cannot properly take in nutrients.’ 

There is no clear indication why this happens to 1 in 100 people (some people are even unaware of this intolerance) but awareness and keeping your diet clear of gluten is key. 

When managed by avoiding gluten products, it’s possible to manage any symptoms, which may include diarrhoea or stomach cramps, and lead a much better life.  

Do Vapes Contain Gluten?

An important question many vape enthusiasts want to know. The simple answer should be no. Vape e-liquids often contain only three things; nicotine, chemicals used in food/medicinal production i.e. Vegetable Glycerine (VG), Propylene Glycol (PG) and flavourings.  

Because we know VG and PG contain no gluten (produced with natural oils), if there are very small traces of gluten, it will be in the flavourings added

These flavourings are typically produced using artificial flavourings and additives, so you shouldn’t have to worry about a gluten flare-up! 

However, bear in mind it can happen on occasion depending on the product and the specific ingredients they have used to make the e-liquid for the disposable10ml bottle or shortfill

How to Choose the Right Vape Liquid Without Gluten

So, whether you prefer to vape using disposables, refillable vape pens, pod kits or vape mods, picking the right vape juice with the best ingredients on a respected and trusted website is of vital importance. 

While it is a case of trial and error to see which works best for you and doesn’t cause a reaction, there are a few things you can do to minimise that risk. This may include: 

  • Finding an e-liquid with organic properties that is clear about its ingredients and production process 
  • Use a trusted website that is transparent about which brands they buy from and why 
  • Ideally, try to locate a vape juice that states it is gluten-free, although this can be a long process 
  • Keeping a healthy gluten-free diet 
  • Immediately stop using any e-liquid that causes any initial celiac reactions 


We hope this article has helped to clear up any issues or concerns regarding gluten in vapes. Rest assured in most cases e-liquids should not contain gluten and therefore not cause a reaction. Our best advice is to make sure to read the ingredients carefully, pick a website you trust and stop using the vape juice straight away if it does cause any issues, consulting with a doctor if any complications persist.  

If you want to ask for assistance picking the right e-liquid through Vsavi, feel free to reach out to one of the team members who will be happy to help and guide you through the process as you vape your preferred gluten-free e-liquid. Happy vaping! 

Older post Newer post